Skip to content
Know Your Rights
Source: Daily News
Subject: Profiles of MRNY
Type: Media Coverage

Melissa Mark-Viverito Rolls Out 33-Member Transition Committee

Three weeks after taking office, City Council Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito has tapped a 33-person transition team “to help build a professional and experienced team that will reflect New York City and its values.”

The group is co-chaired by former Councilwoman Una Clarke – who also serves on Mayor de Blasio’s transition committee. The new mayor and speaker are close allies, and his intervention in the speaker’s race tipped the contest in her favor.

The other co-chair is Rossana Rosado, former editor of El Diario, the Spanish-language daily newspaper.

On the committee are top officials at several politically powerful unions – Kevin Finnegan, political director at healthcare union SEIU 1199, which strongly pushed Mark-Viverito’s candidacy, Natalia Salgado, deputy political director at building workers union 32BJ, and Devin Maroney, deputy political director of the Hotel and Motel Trades Council.

It also features former borough presidents from three boroughs – Marty Markowitz and Helen Marshall, who just left office in Brooklyn and Queens, respectively, and former Manhattan Borough President C. Virginia Fields.

The full list is below:


Dr. Una Clarke, Co-Chair – Former NYC Council Member, 40th District, Brooklyn

Rossana Rosado, Co-Chair – Former Editor, El Diario

Committee Members

Noilyn Abesamis-Mendoza – Dir., Health Programs, Coalition for Asian American Children & Families

Cira Angeles – President, LA Riverside Brokerage, Inc.

Ana Maria Archila – Co-Executive Director, Center for Popular Democracy

Don Mario Bosco – Counsel, Bosco, Ward & Nopar

Jose Calderon – President, Hispanic Federation

John Calvelli – Executive Vice President, Public Affairs, Bronx Zoo

Frank Carone – Partner, Abrams, Fensterman, Fensterman, Eisman, Formato, Ferrara & Wolf, LLP

Daniel Cassella – President, ATU Local 726

Humberto Cruz – Former Director, AIDS Institute of the New York State Department of Health

Francisco Diaz, Jr. – President, Los Higos Del Barrio HDFC

Soraya Elcock – Former Vice President for Strategic Initiatives, Harlem United

C. Virginia Fields – President & CEO, National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS

Kevin Finnegan – Political Director, SEIU 1199

Jennifer Hensley – Executive Director, Association for a Better New York

Jacqueline Huey – Former. Sr. Director of Revenue and Management, NYC HHC

Virginia Kee – Founding member, Chinese American Planning Council

Victor Kovner, Esq. – Partner, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP

Hoong Yee Lee Krakauer – Executive Director, Queens Council of the Arts

Jenny Low – District Leader, 65th Assembly District

Marty Markowitz – Former Brooklyn Borough President

Devin Maroney – Deputy Political Director, New York Hotel and Motel Trades Council

Helen Marshall – Former Queens Borough President

Shahana Masum – Director, Bangladeshi American Advocacy Group

Brette McSweeney – Executive Director, Eleanor’s Legacy

Suki Terada Ports – Former Executive Director, Family Health Project

Félix V. Matos Rodriguez – President, Hostos Community College

Allen Roskoff – LGBT Community Activist

Natalia Salgado – Deputy Political Director, 32BJ SEIU

Melissa Sklarz – Director, New York Trans Rights Coalition

Udai Tambar – Director, South Asian Youth Action

Javier Valdes – Co-Executive Director, Make the Road, NY

To view the original article, click here.